Celebration: Meeting a Musher!

A musher named Ms. Richardson visited us.  She came to show us real sled dogs.

I learned how to put the booties on, and she showed us her vest.

It was fun to pet Dory and Fiona, the dogs.  One of them was scruffy, and the other one was soft.  They had ears that were softer than their body.   They listened to their owner really well.  It was really fun!

I liked pulling the sled.  We pretended we were dogs, and she hitched us up to the lead line. Dory and Fiona were so cute.  We got to pull the musher, Ms. Richardson.  We pulled her on the sled all around the driveway.  She told us where to go by saying, “Gee!” and “Haw!”  Gee is right, and haw is left.

I liked listening to how you put the collars on, and I learned that it will keep you warm if you have a fluffy jacket.  On the sled there are pockets to put their food in, and there is a bag of emergency things for if the musher or the dog get hurt.

I am really glad that she came because it was fun to see her fast dogs.

 

About Cherie Blessing

My name is Miss Blessing, and I would like to welcome you to our class blog! Teaching is the calling of my heart, and I hope to set an example of tenacious engagement in learning this year. Let the Great Adventure begin!

4 Comments

  1. i really like how they use the detial to explain what there trying to get at it really shows which i like! I feel they did pretty good on this. My question is how long did it take you to make this post??? So if you can you should vist my post https://docs.google.com/document/d/1xfLzi9s6i-7A9DmxcZQMUuVVQ7i085WiSjHqC3q73Uk/edit

  2. Dr. Rhonda Truittt

    Hello, Gemma. It sounds like you had a great experience with Ms. Richardson and the dogs. You learned a lot about mushing and working with the dogs. Mushing sounds like hard work but seems like a lot of fun. Your picture is bright and colorful.

  3. I really liked your blog post. Were the dogs huskies? please come to my blog and leave a comment! http://lucym2019.edublogs.org/2019/04/26/week-8/

  4. What a great story about mushers. Your love for words and writing is growing. Thank you, Gemma, for sharing the story that your read. I’m very proud of you.
    Love Grampa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *